The First Two Books in the YA Mystery Series by B.R. Myers are Now Available!

Young adult author B.R. Myers grew up reading scary stories, and we are now excited to congratulate her on the release of her own thrilling novel series for teen readers, “The Nefertari Hughes Mystery Series.” The first two books, Asp of Ascension and Diadem of Death, are now available to purchase!

About the Nefertari Hughes Series

Asp of Ascension and Diadem of Death follow the adventures of sixteen-year-old protagonist Terry Hughes. Recovering from the accident that left her disabled and took her mother’s life, Terry leaves the secrets of ancient Egypt buried in the past and moves to America. When her famous archaeologist father takes over a floundering museum, however, she unwittingly falls into the hunt for a stolen artifact that holds the key to a local girl’s disappearance.

Inspiration for the Nefertari Hughes Series

Asp of Ascension and Diadem of Death were inspired by comic books. Growing up, Myers would steal her older brother’s copies of “Spiderman” and “Batman.” She was fascinated by how the super villain or super hero was created, and that it wasn’t their newly found powers that made them good or evil, but rather the motivations behind their choices. She wanted to write a story that showed both sides of this theme.

When asked what sort of books the “Nefertari Hughes” mystery series might be compared to, Myers says Terry will appeal to fans of Veronica Mars and Meg Cabot’s “The Mediator” series. The novels have the nostalgic feel of Nancy Drew and Lois Duncan, with an ancient Egyptian twist that’s reminiscent of Indiana Jones’ adventures.

About B.R. Myers

Always in the mood for a good scare, B.R. Myers spent most of her teen years behind the covers of Lois Duncan, Ray Bradbury, and Stephen King. She is the author of several YA novels. Her contemporary coming of age book, Girl On the Run, was chosen by the Canadian Children’s Book Centre as a Best Book for Teens for 2016.

When she’s not putting her characters in awkward situations, Myers works as a registered nurse. A member of the Writer’s Federation of Nova Scotia, she lives in Halifax with her husband and two children—and there is still a stack of books on her bedside table.

Share with Us

Are you a fan of scary stories? Why or why not?